Thread: SGN Tournament Rules -- interest?

Default SGN Tournament Rules -- interest?

Expanding on discussions in a different thread, I wanted to explore how much interest there is in a community project to create tournament rules for SGN.

Responses to this thread should focus on:
    1. expressing interest if you would like to participate
    2. thoughts about how such a project should best be undertaken.

IF there is decent interest, then we can create new threads for detailed discussions on specific sub-topics. So let's hold off on those ideas for now.

Disclaimer: I'm not sure I have the time, personality and experience to lead such a project. I'm not a game designer, and I don't always play well with others. Also I often find myself out of the mainstream. But I'm excited about the possibilities, and interested to see what could happen if we put our heads together and gave it a try.

Here's how I personally envision the project (of course, it might not be the way it actually goes):

GOAL:

1. to create "tournament rules" for SGN. Why? To increase interest in the game by creating a new format that encourages more play and discussion, and adds some new dimensions to the game
    2. to create a rules set of sufficient quality, and with sufficiently broad appeal (and marketing) that it goes beyond a few people on one message board fiddling around, and gets some decent uptake

WHAT ARE "TOURNAMENT RULES"?

By this, what I'm really talking about is to allow fairly quick games, so a tournament can be played in a reasonable time, while also enabling a "meta game" involving selection of different combinations of ships, etc.

Here are what I think would be some of the specific requirements:
    1. Games can be played within X time limit (1 hour? 1.5 hours?)
    2. Games can be reasonably be played with fleets of significant size (up to 4? 5? 6? ships)
    3. Fleets are constructed using a points system