Thread: Manned yard-arms

2nd Lieutenant
    UK

Log Entries
    Name
    Rory

Default Manned yard-arms

I had an idea and thought it would be fun to add sailors to a ship. This is the frist go at it. I do not think it's too bad. What do you think? She is a Swedish 70 gun 3rd rate 1-1200 scale Langton model

Name:  Rings and manned 003.jpg
Views: 350
Size:  166.4 KB

Name:  Rings and manned 004.jpg
Views: 321
Size:  164.6 KB

Name:  Rings and manned 005.jpg
Views: 327
Size:  154.3 KB

Be safe
    Rory

Admiral of the White
    Admiral
    United States

Log Entries
    Name
    Jim

Looks pretty damn good, Rory, especially knowing the scale we're dealing with at 1/1200!! Did you mold the figures using some crafting putty and then paint? Nice!

Midshipman
    United States

Log Entries
    Name
    Marc

Looks good! I'd agree with Jim, for the scale that is pretty impressive!

I really like the Swedish flag! I studied abroad there for 8 months in college...I consider it my home away from home.

Retired Admiral of the Fleet
    Admiral
    United States

Log Entries
    Name
    Eric

As always, your work is beautiful Rory.

I agree with Jim - it is kind of hard getting my mind around the detail you achieve in that scale.

I really like the colors.
    “You can discover more about a person in an hour of play than in a year of conversation.” ― Plato

2nd Lieutenant
    UK

Log Entries
    Name
    Rory

Thanks
    My secret man-power

Name:  Making manned yard-arms 001.jpg
Views: 299
Size:  178.1 KB

They also make great landing-parties. they are left to right, French/European marines, British Marines and 2 blocks of sailors

Name:  Troops and Garden 001.jpg
Views: 297
Size:  98.5 KB

Small and a little hard to paint. But once I have flocked them they look the right scale. I think!
    Be safe
    Rory

Wow. Takes creativity to a whole new level. How did you ever come up with the idea?

2nd Lieutenant
    UK

Log Entries
    Name
    Rory